This Queen Anne Victorian house was built by Nelson G. Hawley around 1880 as a “row house” and consists of two separate residences (21-23 Eagle Street) which look like one. The two mirror-image halves had their front parlors joined by a double-arched brick passageway. Mr. Hawley, a bookbinder on State Street, bought the land from Judge Chapin for $423.63, and planned to live in one side of the structure, but did not survive to see the house finished. It was eventually occupied by the McKelvey family. At one point in the 1920’s, the row house was converted to a three-family home, then reconverted to a double in 1974. The adjoining vacant lot was purchased from the city for a garden.
The current residents have lived in Corn Hill for 4 ½ years. They were drawn to this inclusive and engaging community located downtown and easily accessible to many areas of interest including Corn Hill Landing and City Center. They have a unique guest area in their home located off the back of the kitchen believed to have been servants’ quarters and have recently finished the attic space into a home office and playroom. In the spirit of previous Corn Hill pioneers, their kitchen cabinetry is mahogany, made with wood salvaged from a house on East Avenue.